Come as you are, Come as you are, Come as you are, Come as you are, Come as you are, Come as you

History of Delphos First Assembly of God

It all began with a dream in the heart of a woman, Mrs. Tillie Hershey, in 1932.  A small group of people joined with her in home prayer meetings and then a tent meeting began in the winter of 1932.  The church then purchased a building at 1104 N. Washington, in Delphos, and assumed the name “Full Gospel Tabernacle.”  In 1937, the church became affiliated with the Assemblies of God.  The deacons at that time were John Bear, John Winters, and Harley Bryan as Rev. V. L. Wells became the pastor.

In 1950, under the leadership of Pastor C. L. Gruver, the church relocated and built a new sanctuary at 808 Metbliss Ave. During 1954 to 1956, Rev. Anthony DePolo served as the pastor.  Under his leadership the completion of the exterior of the church was accomplished and the name of the church was changed to “First Assembly of God.”

In 1961, Rev. Warren Campbell assumed the pastorate and the parsonage was built next to the church.  Rev. Daryl Sharp became the pastor in1971 and led the congregation in the building of the multi-purpose center.

In 1985, Rev. Terry Collier assumed the pastorate and March 8, 1987, groundbreaking took place for the current sanctuary.  The new sanctuary was dedicated on November 15, 1987.


1932-1937: Tillie Hershey

1937-1943: V. L. Wells

1943-1947: Donald Bostwick

1947-1953: Cecil Gruver

1954- 1956: A. Depolo

1956-1958: E. Irwin

1958-1961: Thomas Shumate

1962:1967: Warren Campbell

1967-1970: Robert Hallquist

1971-1974: Darrell Sharp

1974-1977: Lyle Fox

1978-1985: Emory Polley

1985-1991: Terry Collier

1992-1995: Rich Biclawski

1996–1999: Kevin Bishop

2000-2015: Dan Eaton

2016-present: Fred J Rowe

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com